uptown girl
10:29 a.m. & 2008-04-11

Boo to my stupid computer for screwing up right in the middle of a perfectly good entry...

Anyway, to recap...

Things have been rather dull lately, but in a very good way. I am changing. I am becoming less dependent on drama to make my life exciting and bearable; instead, I am depending on myself. And so what if it is a little boring? Boring is better than the trainwreck it's been for the past two years...

I've decided to give up on my crush on 28-year-old-divorcee, for several reasons. He is a key component of the new series of articles I am writing about the local film festival and the first article was published yesterday. I messaged him via MySpace to ask if he had read it yet; a half-hour later, he messaged back saying he hadn't, but that he was "dying" to and was sure it'd be great. I was excited. Then, I messaged him back verifying some stuff he had asked. While looking at my article, I had noticed that there was an ad for a film fest benefit going on that night. I mentioned in the message that if I had known, I would have written about. Now, in girl code, that means I was hoping he would message me back and ask me if I were going. But, alas, despite having read the message almost immediately, he did not respond.

:(

But then I decided to stop stressing about it. I mean, I do like him...BUT, I am not interested in the being the pursuer anymore. I am going to make the man work for a change. So instead of checking my e-mail every two seconds to see if he had responded, I decided to just let it go...

See...changing!

Yesterday was good, though. I did really like my article. Also, I saw like ten billion people I know uptown, including my former 28-year old fling (Damon). That was nice, I haven't seen him in awhile and it was a pleasant encounter. I also saw Bobby, who lives on my floor, but yet I haven't seen him practically all year. And various other people...nice little run-ins, despite not having showered in 24-hours.

ALSO, big news on the friend front...I found out that one of my best friends from high school is engaged...and PREGNANT.

My jaw is literally still on the floor.

Her life, though.

So...yeah, that is all for now. I have lab in an hour, so I must get ready for that...


previous & next