14th street
4:32 a.m. & 2007-08-25

Another late night update from yours truly.

Okay, so Thursday night was FREAKING AMAZING on sooooo many levels. I was literally 5 feet away from Rufus freaking Wainwright. For those of you who are not familiar with him, he is pretty well-known for his version of Leonard Cohen's Hallelujah. He is on his way to become a musical legend of our generation. Think Nick Drake, but not suicidal...or straight. I'll let the pictures speak for themselves...

Me being a goof. Sexy, eh?

BFFs

Jess and I being awesome.

Danielle and I being awesome...again.

Rufus. <3>

Yeah, he is one sharp dresser.

This is where is gets interesting. Over a year ago, he performed Judy Garland's 1961 Carnegie Hall concert...at Carnegie Hall. I was fortunate enough to go. It was legendary; magazines all over the country have called it one of the legendary musical moments of our century. Kate Winslet, Sam Mendes, Anne Hathaway, Sarah Jessica Parker and other huge stars were there. We were lucky enough to hear some of his versions of Judy Garland's music AGAIN. And he did...while dressed like a woman.

One of my friends who went, Stacie, is about a big of a fan as me. And, as we were front row, we made total fools of ourselves by standing up and dancing to almost every song.

Here is my fav. Rufus did a song for the movie Moulin Rouge called Complainte de la Butte and this is us waltzing to it.

It was funny, because I think were the 'lesbian' couple of the show. We were down the row from the cutest gay couple who danced, too. One of them kept looking at me and smiling, so I felt bad because because Stacie and I are obviously not lesbians. Rufus is obviously a champion for gay rights (celebrities like Kirsten Dunst and Kate Winslet love him for this very reason), but Stacie and I are not gay--just big fans (of him and the gays! Being gay is A-okay! Love for everybody!)


AHH, it was so amazing. I love love loved it! It was awesome. Spending time with Stacie was great, as I haven't really seen her since high school. And she brought a really cute guy friend along who was apparently checking me out. Holla. So, great night.

Unfortunately, I got a Mystic Tan that morning that kind of looked like shit because we were sweating like crazy. It had to be 100 degrees throughout a majority of the show.

Today...well, yesterday, as it is 4:32 a.m. was totally chill. I went to Urban Outfitters and met another cute boy who flirted with me at the register. Longish-hair, but great teeth. There are so many hotties in this world! And I got some new clothes, with the little money I have...which I should not have done, but ohs well.

Ummm...the most dramatic things that happened tonight were the cockroach on my floor and a fight with Danielle. I got one of my neighbors to pick up the bug and I'm pretty sure the fight will resolve itself in due time, so no worries about either!

I have no idea what to title this post...obviously it should be something Rufus oriented, but my fave song by him is nothing clever. But I will use it, because the moment he sang it was probably one the greatest moments of my life.

previous & next