2008, pt. 2
11:27 p.m. & 2008-01-02

And now for the continuation...

I IM'ed Nolan. I said 'Hey'. He said 'hey' back, which launched into to the conversation regarding the e-mail.

It was surprsingly nice. I remember my confrontations with Jason--hostile, awkward, shameful, humiliating. Nolan, on the other hand, has a completely different approach.

Before I even brought up the e-mail, we joked around about New Year's in an innocent, flirtarious manner, which set the tone for the conversation. By not making it instantly awkward, we kept it from becoming eventually awkward. Then I finally asked.

His response? "i guess i don't really think of you like that...but i'm totally down for hanging out more and stuff."

It's funny, because even though it is technically a rejection, I don't feel like its a rejection.

Maybe this is a bit conceited, but I don't think it is necessarily hopeless. About five seconds later, he said something about how much he was an asshole to me in the beginning and I'm wondering if that has something to do with it. I wonder if we could get past that and if we did, what might happen? What would happen if we moved past what happened before and maybe recaptured the amazingness of our first date?

Enough of that for tonight. I am trying not to be too hopeful or annoying. I asked him four times during our conversation if he genuinely wanted to be friends. I read in Cosmo last night that this is a creepy thing to ask guys...anything along of the lines of "Do you really mean it when you say it?" I don't know why this is a boy faux-paux, though. What is wrong with wanting to know where you stand and what your chances are with anything? He kept confirming that he did want to be friends, though...and to stop asking, haha.

I am confused, of course, and not necessarily ecstatic at how things are going, but it is by far better than anything Jason ever told me. I figure I am going to play it cool, though. The second week we're back at school, after things calm down, I'll ask him if he wants to hang out. If he says yes, great. If not, then oh well, right?

On the hot guy front, I texted that guy from last night...the one with the tattoos and the crazy but hot ex-girlfriend. His name is Jon. Like I said earlier, he is hella hot. He has tattooooos and I love tatttoooos. Actually, I am pretty sure we started talking because he asked about my tattoo. But anyway, I texted him tonight asking who it was (haha, I'm bad) and we immediately began a conversation. He said his phone was dying, though, so we only had a brief texting conversation. The last question I asked was about his tattoos and he said he'd have to show me again sometime (I vaguely remember him unbuttoning his shirt to show me). Mmmmm....yum!

My mom and I resolved our argument, which is good. I talked to Jess and she is already very lonely, which I understand but also think is mainly because of her boyfriend. I guess she found out that he IM'ed this girl he used to do date and FREAKED OUT at him and they fought. I feel bad for her but at the same time I am reminding her that that is life and all of us went through it. I moved to NYC with a boyfriend and not knowing anyone and it was hell. And Danielle went to UPenn without knowing anyone, too. I think she just has to tough it out. I am sympathetic, but I think it will be good for her. She already sounds more greatful about my eagerness to stay in touch with her, which I appreciate. Maybe this will make her realize the kind of friends she has.

I can't really think of anything else, but if I do, I'll be baaack.

Oh yeah!

New Year's Resolution: Save money for Chicago and write in my diary EVERY DAY!

Can anyone believe it is 2008 already?

previous & next