absentee ballot
2:34 p.m. & 2007-06-19

I have not written for quite some time. On Sunday, I moved down to Cincinnati to live with my mom, and unfortunately, my laptop is in need of repair so it is still living in Dayton for the time being. But I have found a way to provide a brief update. I forgot to write about going to Night Sky with Steve and Danielle last Thursday, and then to the park with them and Jess. It was fun. Night Sky is an independently owned caf� that we love to frequent; they have the best oreo cheesecake in the world. Donkey in Athens is the closest I have come to the atmosphere I love about Night Sky, hence why I went there two to three times a week. Afterwards, we went to the park at my old elementary school to play on the swing set. Yes, a group of 18-20 year-olds, one of which attends an Ivy League school, went to the park to swing. But it was really fun. We reminisced about the past and discussed the future, all while flying high in the hair with our feet dangling. I love nights like those. On Saturday night, Jess had a party at her house. Hunter and I finally made amends after two months of not talking; all it took was a little bit of conversation and a lot of beer. It was a fun crowd. Jess, Hunter, Danielle, Steve, Taylor , Brian, and Jess�s two friends from school were all there. We just played some drinking games, listened to music, and chatted. Later in the evening, as I was too intoxicated to drive to see him, Aaron came over and joined the festivities. It was a bit weird having one of my college friends hanging with my high school friends, but I enjoyed having him there. It will definitely be something to talk about next year at school. Seeing some of my friends drunk is really funny, especially Hunter. I forgot how much I missed him; despite my apparent nonchalance towards our separation, I was secretly sad. But now we are friends again and I am glad. I am excited to be living in Cincinnati with my mom this summer. I love the area in which she lives. I will have no problem finding a job; there are like two of everything! 3 Chipotles in less than 5 miles. Exciting news for any burrito lover. There is a Barnes and Nobles less than a mile away. My mom and I went there on Sunday and she bought me a few books and magazines. It was nice. There was a rather cute clerk who kept making eye contact with me. Maybe I will go back? I could see it becoming a place where I can sit and focus on my summer courses. Who knows� Right now I am focusing on getting a job, doing well in my summer classes, catching up on some reading, and just enjoying the summer. My friends and I are planning a lot of fun events this summer. I don�t know if any of you have heard of it, but there is a Creation Museum is Kentucky that has been garnering quite a bit of attention from the press (the BBC even covered it!). It is a $27 million dollar museum that presents a literal interpretation of the Book of Genesis (which means, according to them, the world is only 6,000 years old). It is quite contrevertial. Jess and I are planning to make a trip up there on Saturday and I have finally gotten in contact with my editor about doing a story about it for the magazine (more about that later). I will post pictures. Also, Jess and I are going to Pitchfork Music Festival in Chicago in July (WOOT!). I will definintely be writing more about that exciting news later.

previous & next