busy in theory
9:33 a.m. & 2007-06-13

Wow, I am officially the worst summer-er ever. I am up at freaking 9:30 a.m. What kind of craziness is that?

Yesterday was a boring day. I didn't get my hair done, as a bit of a family emergency kept me from making the appointment. Nothing too serious. My dad is just laying around, drunk, as usual. I am so glad that I only have to be here for a week because his alcoholic ways sure get on my nerves.

That's really not an issue I write too much about. I can sum it up by saying that my parents are seperated, my dad is an alcoholic, and he copes with their seperation through alcohol. And I just try to stay as much out of it as possible, but that is hard when I always feel like I am an 18-year-old taking care of a 50-something-year-old man. Blah.

So instead, I went to the mall and just chilled out by myself. I bought some clothes, including a new hoodie, two tops, some underwear, and a cool necklace. It was one of those shopping trips where you have money, but nothing in the regular racks catches your eye. But then you see one or two items in the sale rack and they completely make up for it. A shopping catch-22.

I ate some orange chicken, rice, and mashed potatoes at the cajun restaraunt in the mall and then bought some cookies. It was fun. Doing stuff alone can be the most fulfilling. I like to venture into other towns because you can't do anything in my hometown without seeing someone you know. Makes it hard to leave the house without makeup.

I was going through my screennames from the past and I made contact with Steven, a friend from FIT. It's kind of crazy, but the friends I made in the limited amount of time I lived in New York City have proved to be the most resilient. When I left, the girls on my floor made me a card and everything. And the fact that a year later I can still IM Steven and have him say he looks for me everytime he gets online is really saying something. Good friends, even if in the past, are nice to have.

I start my online classes in a few days. That will take some of my time. And I am in the process of looking for an entry-level job at which I can make oodles of money. So I guess, in theory, I have a lot planned.

previous & next