closure
3:10 a.m. & 2007-08-06

Scratch that.

I will talk about him, just this once.

I have since realized that, while love can set you free, it can also hold you back. And our love would have held me back.

It has been almost a year exactly since our short-lived romance. And while a day goes by that I don't think about him and the happiness he inspired in me, I have this diary to look at. In that year, I have done so much; lived a thousand lives that I would not trade for anything. I used to think I would trade it all for him, but I know thats not true.

I'm out there, sleeping around, drinking too much, writing articles in the early hours of the morning, interviewing bands and artists and writers and random amazing people, and travelling to anywhere and everywhere and looking ahead into the unknown that has the possibility of being something really great.

But he is 22. And still working at the movie theater and attending community college and he has found love again. I am happy for him, and I am positive that he is happy with his life. That is good.

I sent him this message on MySpace...using the account I use only to look at other's pictures:

I am happy that you are very happy. You have no idea.

Also, I don't know if you are still actively pursuing your dream of becoming a social worker, but if you are, I hope you succeed. You will be fantastic at it. Or whatever you choose to do in life.

Kathy

I'm not even going to check to see if he read it. Or even if he responds.

That is closure right there, mothafuckas.

previous & next