fighting tears just to carry on
12:49 a.m. & 2007-06-21

I got a job today.

In the afternoon, right after I woke up, I began calling the places I applied and asking for the manager. Well, I only succeeded in reaching the manager at one place, a restaurant called Rafferty�s, and he said I could come in for an interview at 3:30 pm. So I went and got the job. I am a hostess and will make $7.50/hr.

I guess I am excited. I was hoping for something more fun, like the movie theater or Barnes and Nobles, but a job is a job for the time being. I have never even eaten there and the uniforms look a little dorky (I have to wear a tie!), but $7.50 will be the most I have ever been paid per hour. And hostessing doesn�t sound too difficult, much better than serving at least.

So yeah, I�ve got the job part of summer out of the way. I was feeling really down today for some reason. I started some nitpicks with friends, but by the end of the afternoon everything had simmered down. They were completely random annoyances, nothing too substantial, but in my highly emotional state, they really bothered me. Now, I wonder why I overreacted.

I have yet to start my anti-depressants. I am both apprehensive, yet excited. I was flipping through the PostSecret book I bought Jess for her birthday and I found a few that deal with medication and its effects. One was about feeling like a zombie. This may sound weird, but I am excited to see if I feel like that. I feel like I need a vacation from my own mind. It�d be nice for my thoughts to resemble a calm, placid lake for once, rather than a tsunami.

A few nights ago, I wrote about how Damon e-mailed me back after a long break. Well, I e-mailed him after that and waited for two nights without any response. But, ironically much like the first time, I got another e-mail right as I checked it for the last time before going to bed. It was concerning the journalism conferences taking place in the upcoming week. I will definitely be unable to go to the one this weekend in Detroit, but I am really interested in going to the Campus Progress conference in D.C. on Monday. Barbara Ehrenreich (Nickel and Dimed) and Eric Schlosser (Fast Food Nation) will both be there. Unfortunately, the situation for transportation is a little too work intensive for me. BUT�Damon said that if I was really interested in going, he would accompany me. AHHH! Now I REALLY want to go. However, it may be difficult, because of my training for work and having to drive all the way to Athens and then to Pittsburgh and then to D.C. EEK! We�ll see what happens. I would LOVE to go, but alas, too short notice.

I went to Barnes and Nobles today to see if the cute boy was working again. And because I just love being there. I keep buying too many books, though. No more!

previous & next