first day
2:59 a.m. & 2007-09-04

I am officially moved in for my second year of college.

I feel...good. The move-in was entirely undramatic. I didn't sleep a wink last night, so I started getting ready at 6 a.m. We left at 7 a.m. and were there by 11 a.m. I slept most of the way there. Funny story--while sleeping, I smudged my eyebrow pencil, so one eyebrow was a bit bigger than the other. And of course, when we went to Wal-Mart to get some stuff, I ran into a friend from last year--poofy eyebrow and all. Awkwardness is my middle name.

Aside from that, I really love my dorm. I love love love my single this year. And the building is amazing! It is a lot more private than last year, which is good, because now I can really relax without being bugged by neighbors. The layout of the room is so much better than last year and it is already cleaner. I decorated it pretty nice for the first night. Hopefully I can keep it this clean throughout the year. Lets just say, if there was a contest for messiest dorm on campus, my dormroom last year would have won, hands down.

Unfortunately, my dad's back (he fell down the stairs last week--drunk, of course) kept him from having lunch with me. I was a bit disappointed--after yesterday's argument, I was looking forward to spending some quality time with him. But he left, and then I headed to the Student Involvement Fair with Shayne, CJ, Anthony and Dustin.

It was fun--Shayne and I signed up for a bunch of things I'm sure we'll never pursue. Like...sailing and drama club. Granted, I will be sure not to miss their annual performance of the Rocky Horror Picture Show, but I'm thinking my acting skills are a bit dry. I talked to Amber at the newspaper booth, but found that my newest publication's both was nowhere in sight. Shayne and I were standing at the booth for tae-kwon-do (yeah, right) when I saw Damon walk by. I could tell he recognized me and attemptd to make eye contact, but I didn't look back. Later, at night, he sent out a few e-mails through the list-serve. Nothing special...until 1:50 a.m. rolls around and he sends ME a personal e-mail with a story suggestion and a question, "How is being back in Athens?" Made my night.

At around 9:30 pm, I went to Amber's to watch the Justin Timberlake concert on HBO. She has her own single apartment, of which I am so jealous. I love it! We caught up on eachother's summers and boys and who did what boy in the summer. Found out a lot of epic information. It was really fun. I am glad she considers me a main confidante.

I haven't really met any of the other girls on my floor except for one named Lindsey who seems pretty nice. We walked to College Green together. She told me her life's story. While she is nice, I don't see any deep friendships stemming from it--tooo much drama in her life for me.

All in all, today was nice. Classes start tomorrow--wish me luck! Unfortunately I can't sleep, despite only having slept about 5 hours in the past two days. I am just relishing in the contentedness, considering every day at college brings a different emotion. Tonight I am calm and peaceful, but who knows what could happen tomorrow--World War III?

previous & next