giving me head on the unmade bed
12:52 a.m. & 2007-06-25

I am going out with the guy I hooked up with last night.

Yeeeeah. So maybe I am a little stupid. But what harm can come of it? And besides, I'd rather have a memory of a bad date than a memory of a bad hook-up. Can the two cancel eachother out? And who knows, maybe something good could come from this.

I am probably making a huge mistake. Ha, if I ever write a memoir, that will be the title.

One of my literary idols emailed me today. About five years ago, I read this amazing book called Girl by Blake Nelson. Well I have pretty much been obsessed with him and his writing ever since. About a month and a half ago, I e-mailed him professing my love for his literary intellect.

"Mr. Nelson,

I am by far your BIGGEST fan. I can easily assure you of this.

Five years ago, the summer before I entered high school, I purchased your book,Girl, in Washington, D.C. on vacation and read it OBSESSIVELY (I am fond of caps to emphasize my point). To this day, as a freshman in college, I still read it whenever I am feeling particularly Andrea Marr-ish.

I am an aspiring writer myself. I am a journalism student in E.W. Scripps at Ohio University. Your work has meant so much to me as both a girl and a aspiring writer. I'd like to think that I look at my life the same way Andrea does...random, observant and completely in the moment.

I just felt like writing to tell you all of this. I hope that one day our paths cross so I can tell you of my admiration. Ohio has a lot of great bookstores and plenty of angst ridden teens, so if you ever for some reason do a book tour, consider the Buckeye State. We may have ruined the election, but what we lack in political sense, we make up for in pretty cool kids.

Yours truly,

Kathy."

And today, he finally responded.

"dude, I don't think I wrote back to you right away. thanks for writing. you are my kind of girl. and my kind of reader!

I also LOVE FREAKIN CAPS. but did you know that random house books won't let you do that? I promptly wrote them a whole book with CAPS AND THEY DIDN'T PUBLISH IT.

rats!

anyway, you sound awesome, read some more of my books. I recommend my newest one about two girls on Cape Cod in the summer, or PROM ANONYMOUS which is about to win an award or something

and watch for the movie of PARANOI DPARK coming to a theater near you.

and good luck with your career. when GIRL first came out this one girl wrote me this really fun and energetic letter and I always remembered it and then I met her and then she wrote her own book and it got published.

and before I got published I wrote letters to my favorite writers . . .

see ya

blake"


Isn't that nice?

My mom told me tonight that I am a born writer. I hope she is right. Maybe one day I can use all of these teenage mistakes to write a 21st century version of Catcher in the Rye. Here's to hoping...

previous & next