good night, and good luck
1:46 a.m. & 2007-05-17

Naps make me unhappy.

Lately the quality of my sleep has been affecting the quality of my life. It's so bizarre. I took a REALLY long nap today after pulling an all-nighter and awoke to feel really miserable. It's weird because I always feel better after a good NIGHT's sleep, but after I nap, I just feel more vulnerable. And nervous, extremely nervous. And heartbroken. It's like whenver I wake up I am reminded that we're not speaking anymore, that it's pretty much as over as it is ever going to be.

Eventually I recovered to the non-chalant emotional state I have adopted as of late, but the sadness still lingers.

It was pouring this morning, which made the trek to Coms class not so fun. My silver ballet flats are pretty much ruined. They are soaking wet and have all sorts of vegetation in them. Sadness. Mourn the flats...

I skipped out on the Journalism Day lectures because of that fact, and because I was insanely tired. My hair was a frizzy mess, my eye make-up was everywhere but my eyes, and I just wanted to SLEEP like mad. Hence the seven hour nap that made me sad. :(

My friend Chris, also a writer at the newspaper, interviewed Jason yesterday for an article we're doing on his friend. He pretty much said Jason is an asshole. I am constantly being reassured of that fact. It's not like he is some great guy who I let get away...he is truly someone I am better off without. Now I just need to start realizing that.

Speaking of Chris, he and I saw The Namesake tonight at the Athena. Great movie, even better company... I find myself really attracted to Chris. He is very good-looking and to top it off, he is a great writer with an intellectual mind. And he seems to care about those qualities in a girl. We talk about a variety of subjects...journalism, international adoption, volunteer work, etc... I don't think he feels romantically towards me (he has a girlfriend), but I appreciate being thought of as a friend for my personality.

And when we parted for our respective dormrooms, he said it was nice spending time with me...

All in all, good night.

Tomorrow I get to interview the up-and-coming indie band Coyote Bones. WoOt wOot.

previous & next