good weekend
3:11 p.m. & 2007-04-28

I am going through an experience which, for most college students, is the equivalent of a drug addict going without a fix: NO COMPUTER.

Yeah, I know. And when I can get one, my time is usually limited. It sucks.

Things are getting better. I haven't spoken to evil boy in four days and I'm thinking its over for real this time. Thank goodness. Now if only I could stop being afraid of seeing him everywhere...

Wednesday was uneventful; I had a test in journalism in society which I studied for like mad the night before. I don't think I did too well...about 75% of it I knew hands down, but I was wary of some short answers. We'll see how it goes.

On Thursday, I went to my first poly sci class in almost two weeks, which made me feel productive. Then I went in for editing with Matt, which was fun. I've been covering the Athens International Film and Video Festival for the past few weeks, which has been exhausting but exciting nonetheless. A few years ago, Steve Buscemi came to show a film...thats how important our festival is, so I had to write a pretty damn good preview. While in the newsroom, Matt and another editor, Ellie, complimented my work thus far. Apparently I'm very "up-and-coming" and Ellie said she likes my stuff. Yay. This makes me happy because I take my writing very seriously. This may seem surprising because my diary-writing style is nothing to be particularly proud of, but my academic, professional, and creative writing is something I take great care in being good at. I'm also very private, though, so much of my creative writing does not see the light of day. (Btw...if you're interested, you can read my stuff here).

Thursday night was uneventful. Amber invited me out to Dance or Die, but I didn't go, since I know evil boy frequents those events. It's still too soon. My mom agreed that I made the mature decision...why get upset if you can avoid it? So instead I went uptown and bought a book and magazine, and spent the night reading/watching American History X on television. Earlier in the evening I accompanied Aaron on a liquor run, which was fun since I haven't seen him in forever. Such a nice boy.

Friday was the highlight my of week thus far. I accidentally skippeds coms again (eek!) and spent most of the day in my dorm before going out. At 7, Zach and I went to check out some films at the film festival. First we saw Killer of Sheep, which is a historically acclaimed film from 1977 that just made its way into wide release. Everyone I had interviewed for the festival was pooing themselves with excitement over this, so I thought it warranted a viewing. All of the people I previously mentioned who were uber-excited about the film were there, asking me what I thought. Unfortunately, I didn't like it that much. I certainly appreciated it for its artistic value, but it just didn't strike my fancy. The second film, however, Who the fuck is Jackson Pollock?, was awesome. Its a documentary about a woman who buys a painting at a thrift store for $5 and finds out it could possibly be a Jackson Pollock original. However, the art world completely shuns her claims, despite the fact that she has scientific evidence relating it back to Pollock (fingerprints, paint samples, etc...). Very funny, brash, and just a good movie.

The film festival itself was exciting and I plan on seeing some more movies throughout the week. I saw a lot of people I know from doing the article, including a few cute boys. It was fun.

Afterwards, Zach and I just walked around south green for a bit, and I talked his ear off. He is very much a reliable guy friend in that he is always there to listen to your problems. I feel bad, though, whenever I do that. But hes a good guy and I hope to hang out with him more.

Unfortunately I triple booked for tonight. Amber and I are getting some coffee later (at the best coffee shop in the world), and then I will either hang out with Anthony or Robinson (boys from Kathy's romantic past...a.k.a. a few weeks ago). Potentially exciting night ahead. This is how I roll. After disappointment, I spend a few days in seclusion, eating copious amounts of junk food and feeling sorry for myself. Then I throw myself out in the world and stay in constant motion. Is this a good coping method? I don't really know. But I also have to figure that in less than six weeks, I will most likely never see, speak to, or hear from him again. So I'll just have to tough it out until then!

previous & next