hotel chevalier
12:36 a.m. & 2007-11-03

Happy Belated Halloween everyone!

Halloween day was super fun, but unfortunately I spent most of it irritated due to annoying floormates. But then Ash and I went for dinner at the dining hall where they had a really neat Wizard of Oz-themed dinner. Apparently they do that for big events like Halloween and other holidays. The Tin Man hit on me, which was awkward...never will I watch that with the same feelings.

At night, Ash, her sister, Caitlin, Rachel and I went to the Ridges. If any of your are familiar with American haunting folklore, you will know that the Ridges is the home of the old Athens Mental Institution, hospital, and tuberculosis ward. It is considered one of the most haunted places in America and the thirteenth haunted place in the world. I don't know if any of that is real or not, but OU students love to break into it, despite the penalties of judiciaries and possible expulsion. Thats what the pictures are from the previous entry. The most famous story is the stain. Apparently this woman signed herself out from the ward for a day and never signed back in. They went looking and looking for her, but never found. It is obviously not known whether she did it on purpose or got lost in her own little world, but she died, and her body was not discovered for a long time. The decay of her body left a permanent stain that can't be removed. Until the building became structurally unsound, it was always being broken into.

We toured the main building, then walked up to the tuberculosis ward, which is the scariest spot of the place. Then we went into the cemetary, which was also freaky. We snuck into the cafeteria, which was hella creepy, and even creepier when the lights turned on and we thought we'd be caught. Fun night overall. Ash's sister made me a really sweet Halloween gift box, too!

On Thursday, Emily and I went to see Elizabeth: The Golden Age, which was AMAZING. On top of amazing visuals, kick-ass costumes, and a thrilling storyline, Clive Owen was extra super hot as Sir Walter Raleigh. It gets my highest recomendation.

After that, Ash, her sis, and I were going to go see another movie, but the tire on her car blew, so we had to deal with that for awhile. We missed the movie, but we made a trip to Wal-Mart to get some junk food, then we went to Booth's apartment to watch The Descent. Fun night, scary ass movie.

Tonight I had a sober night. But before I get into that, I want to say what happened with Will.

So for the past few nights, I've been uber stressing out about whether or not he would call. Come Friday at 4 p.m., I decided to call him. So maybe it screamed 'desperate'...but I'd like to think that it screamed, 'this girl has plans, so tell her what the fuck is going on now!'.

It actually went well.

I called him as he was getting gas, beacuse he is going home for the weekend because next week is his birthday (completely understandable AND believable). Then he said that he was just getting ready to call me...in a way that once again, sounded BELIEVABLE. Then, he SUGGESTED that we hang out on Sunday instead!!! It was so cute. He was all like, "I was going to suggest that we hang out on Sunday evening, maybe watch a movie...if you don't have any homework or anything." Then he said he'd call me Sunday afternoon. I told him to have a good weekend and happy early birthday. Then we hung up.

That made me happy. BUT, I am not going to dwell on it...on being nervous OR happy, because I do not want to jinx myself.

I had a lot of fun tonight, though. For starters, I finally talked to Bryan! After about a month of no contact, during which I was skeptical of why he hadn't contacted me, I saw him online and found out that he has been in rehab the past month. That broke my heart, but made sense of a lot of things. So we talked for awhile, then, after I left for my plans, we texted practically the entire night. It was so cute. He said that he loved me, missed me, that I made him happy, that he can't wait to see me...all of which I feel towards and about him! :)

As for tonight's festivities, Emily and I went to the Senior Dance Concert. Maybe not a party and a half, but fun, nonetheless. Then we had a late dinner at the diner (biscuits and gravy do not taste as good sober), then we headed to the late night showing of The Darjeeling Limited. This movie definintely earns my highest recommendation. This is what you get when you combine the magic of Wes Anderson, Adrien Brody, and Jason Schwartzman, with Owen Wilson thrown in there for laughs. It was heartwarming, and I must say, the eye candy wasn't so bad. Adrien Brody is my boyfriend. :)

Who can't wait???

previous & next