i think, therefore i am
2:32 p.m. & 2007-08-12

I finally got to see my best friend on Thursday! She came home from Argentina on Tuesday and we all went out for coffee on Wednesday. It was fun. She brought me back a necklace, a bookmark, and tales of her Bolivian love affair. ::GASP::


Budge, my bff


Budge and me


Jess and Hunter


Mommy and me

After coffee we went to see Knocked Up at the cheap theater. Oddly enough, it was more romanic than it was funny. I really liked it--I hope my babydaddy is as sweet as Seth Rogen.

I didn't do anything on Thursday and Friday (my life is so exciting!), but on Saturday, Steve and Jess accompanied me to The Creation Museum in Petersburg, Kentucky for my story.

For any of you who are unfamiliar with it, The Creation Museum is a $26 million monstrosity of a museum depicting a literal interpretation of Genesis. Meaning: they think the world is 6,000 years old. They think dinosaurs and humans co-existed.

As a journalist, it is my job to be objective, but it was so hard in this museum! It is one thing to believe in this, but some of the exhibits were borderline hateful.

Those are just two of the insane books in the gift shop. They were pretty much all dedicated to renouncing all other religions AND scientific theories...basically, if you do not follow the Bible exactly, nothing in this bookstore is for you!

Visually, the exhibit was impressive.


And that is about the ONLY compliment I have to give. Pretty much the second you step into the exhibit, you are accosted with narrow-mindnedness.

Probably the most difficult part of the exhibit was the "wall of hate".

This part of the exbibit basically blamed journalism on the downfall of religion in society. It was disgusting. They collaged magazine and newspaper clippings of articles about homosexuality, school shootings, and general world violence on fake brick wall under harsh red lighting as if to say, "You're all causing all of this! The unfaithful are damning us all!" It was sick.

Hostility towards stupidity aside, the trip was pretty fun. Jess and Steve were my press posse, helping to point out the silly things and carrying my equipment.

And here are some pictures that just came out cool:

The parking lot, naturally.

Also, they gave me a white lanyard that said "MEDIA" in big, black letters. It might as well just have said "SKEPTIC" because every museum employee shot me withering glares. It was surreal at some points.

After the museum, Jess and Steve came back to chill at my apartment before we headed off to a local carnival. Saving Jane and The Romantics were playing (its what I like about you...). It was kind of fun. Jess rode the Tilt-A-Whirl with me, as I am apparently the only one who loves carnival rides. And then we ate some awesome fair food. I got a pulled-pork sandwich, it was really yummy.

After that, we went to Barnes and Nobles and just sat. Unfortunately, chocolated melted in my purse and got all over my stuff! That was the low-point of my day. So, I guess you could say my day was pretty good!

It was probably one of the most companionable days of the summer.

previous & next