long ass entry
9:37 p.m. & 2008-01-21

Friday was good.

The whole Will thing went down, which I already recapped, so no further need to explain.

For our nightly fun, Em, Caitlin and I went to see 27 Dresses which was hellla adorable. Then we went to Wal-Mart afterwards to get some girly stuff, including hair dye! (Refer to previous post for pictures!)

After we got back, Em and I did our hair. I dyed hers a brownish-red and she dyed mine darker brown. And then I cut my hair, too! I cut it myself...and did a surprisingly good job. I cut off about 5 inches so now its a mid-length choppy bob. I really love it and so does everyone else!

Friday had a bit of drama, though none of it was really mine. Bob kept calling, wanting to hook up, but I kept putting it off. He said that he would call after going to the bars and I didn't feel like waiting, so I didn't answer four of the five times he called me. Ash had a bit of a mental breakdown while partying at a frat, so I had to take care of that, and then I found out that Jess got into a pretty major car accident. Luckily she wasn't hurt, but from what I can tell it was pretty scary. Thankfully she is okay!

On Saturday, I had to go to a local band's recording session for this piece I am doing on their new cd. They recorded their second album in a house rather than a recording studio and decided to contact the paper about doing a story. I won't divuldge the name of the band, but they are pretty well-known here in Athens and do a lot of local shows, so it was pretty exciting to be able to do this story.

Em came with me and it was pretty fun. Unfortunately I was not able to do the interview on Saturday because the lead vocalist felt that stopping to do an official interview would kill their "vibe." Everyone else in the band was super-nice and a few were super-cute, but the vocalist was kind of snippy and self-righteous. Considering he is the one who suggested the story to the paper, I found it kind of odd that he acted so inconvenienced. But we stayed to watch them record for a few hours and it was really interesting. They did a few tracks of the same song. They all sounded the same to me, but apparently there was something wrong with each one to make them try again. I think the last time they played it was the settled-upon version, which means it will be on their new album. I'll have to pick that up!

Em said she thought one of the guys liked me. He is super nice and I know he is a friend of a few of my ex-conquests, like Jason and Nolan. But I think he was just talking to me because we are both journalism majors and it seems as if we always want to commiserate over our similar studies.

At night, Em and I went with our other floormate Aigerim to her friend's show at a local chinese restaraunt, China King. At first, I was hesitant. For starters, the scene at China King isn't exactly jumping if you know what I mean. Also, I was a bit wary of hanging out with Aigerim, who we never really hang out with outside of the hall. But it turned out to be SO MUCH FUN (once again, refer to previous post for pictures). We ended up getting free food, which was a pretty good deal. Unfortunately I wasn't that hungry, so I pretty much just ate fried and white rice. Still yummy, though...and free! And then show got started and it was completely awesome and fun. Aigerim's friend, who we've met before, is reminiscient of those Chinese pop stars you randomly hear about. Totally kooky and fun, but takes himself kind of seriously. It was funny, I'll admit, but in a fun way. We were kind of laughing at him, but I do admire his boldness...and even I will admit, his music is contagious. Em and I even got up to dance, in the middle of the restaraunt! It was awesome! Some other people got up to dance with us and everyone else looked at us like we were having so much fun, which we were. I loved it! We had a BLAST. And then, of all people I could see, Ryan (manager of local independent movie theater, kind of love interest) ended up eating there as well. I moved and grooved my way over to him and he was totally nice! He is kind of an odd person, in that he is kind of an asshole but I don't think he means to be. But that night he was totally cool and sweet and nice. I hope I was cool, but who knows...sometimes, whether I'm nervous or excited, I say some pretty weird things. But I totally saw him looking at my chest, as I wearing a pretty revealing dress. I told him to come dance with us, and he said he just might, but then him and his friend left. Oh well, we still had fun. It was funny because we were sitting next to this family...two parents, two children, and they kept talking to us sporadically through the performance. Keep in mind, Em and I were both wearing pretty low-cut outfits, we both have our noses pierced, I have a tattoo and we were using some pretty non-family friend language throughout the night, so it came as a surprise to me when she invited us to a barbeque in the spring. It was totally random and awesome! Also, at one point, she grabbed my arm and said, "It's been killing me all night. What does it say?", referring to my tattoo. So even more of a surprise that she thought we were so fun!

After that, we went to Coldstone (in 6 degree weather, I may add) and then to a party of a friend of Aigerim's. It was okay, but we ended up leaving early because we were bored and these two guys were being weird. I did, however, meet a pretty cute Russian guy, haha. Although, my way of introducing myself to him was to say, "Everyone loves Russia! Except for those 20 years when no one loved Russia!" It was hilarious.

Sunday was fun, too. Em and I went back to the house to do the official interview with the band, which went pretty well. Again, one of the members was pretty self-righteous, but the others were friendly as usual and the drummer asked us to play these drum-type things in their show on Friday when they open for the Ataris. Very nice offer, if I must say so myself!

After that, Em and I went to Bagel Street Deli to have lunch and who do we run into again? Ryan, of all people! He stopped to talk to us while he was waiting for his food. He was nice again, but still awkward...which Em said she thought might be because he was around me. That's an interesting though...usually I'm so focused on my own awkwardness that I rarely stop to think that maybe other people feel awkward, too. But I think it went well. Who knows with boys, really. I'll see what happens.

After that, I had ANOTHER interview at this local art gallery, which was really cool and fun. The guy I interviewed was amazing...he answered the questions before I even asked them, rather than me having to coax them out of him. Rob came later to take some photos, which is the first time I've seen him for awhile, so that was cool.

Unfortunately, and this was definitely the worst part of the weekend, I left my cellphone there! YEAH, I know! Thankfully I have it back now, but I'll get to that later.

At night, Em, Rachel and I went to see Cloverfield which was really amazing and intense. I highly reccomend. I didn't think it was scary, but Em and Rach did. However, it was intense...the intensity alone was almost as effective as it technically being scary. So everyone go see it and tell me what you think!

Monday (today) was good since we didn't have school. I wrote my article about the band and went in for editing, which was surprisingly fun. I found out that at critique on Friday (every Friday, a journalism prof/grad student comes to critique the paper from that week), the guy said that he really liked me tattoo story for the Post Modern column. Apparently it was fun, interesting and well-written, which was a total compliment. I was happy about that. Thankfully, editing was relatively short and sweet, so I was in and out.

Then we all went to dinner in the dining hall, which was fun and yummy.

OH! And, I got my phone back, which was probably the highlight of my weekend. On Saturday, Bob tried calling again to see if I wanted to go to dinner, but I wasn't available at the time. I called him back later, but he didn't answer. I thought he had done it to piss me off, but I got a message from him on my phone explaining otherwise, thank goodness. I was relieved.

Nothing else too exciting has happened this weekend, or at least that I can remember. Jess and her boyfriend are going through a pretty shitty break-up, so I am dealing with that at the moment.

Also, tomorrow is Will day. Everyone wish me luck!

previous & next