light as a feather, stiff as a board
1:27 a.m. & 2007-05-23

Things are looking up.

I haven't written for the past few days. Life has been pretty chill, which is good.

I had a temporary relapse with the boy. It's hard to put a crush like that behind you--the life consuming kind that completely makes life worth living for a short amount of time. I talked to him twice today. Both were very short, blunt conversations, the kind that remind me why I hate him. I asked about retrieving my jacket and he suggested that he leaves it at the newspaper office. I declined that offer on the grounds that I don't want anyone to know that I know him. I even told him that. It sounded kind of mean, but it is true. And I don't think he deserves my kindness anyway. Our resolution for the jacket exchange was that he would just keep it. So yeah. I lost a few good months, a little bit of my sanity and a perfectly good jacket in the process of this affair. Ugh. Thank god that chapter of my life is coming to an end. I just need to put a period on the final sentence.

The past few days have been fun and relaxing. Classes have been going well (the ones I go to at least). On Monday, Bryan and I watched Friends. Today (well, Tuesday...a few hours ago LOL) was good. The article I wrote about Coyote Bones ran today. It was good, I think. The interview with the lead singer was a lot of fun--he was a pretty cool guy. I didn't go see the band, though. The only musician who I have interview whose show I actually went to was Girl Talk, but the others really didn't interest me too much. Next year, if I am music staff writer, I will devote more time to actually checking out some of the bands I cover.

Aaron and I got some coffee tonight. My mint mocha creamice was super sweet. My teeth are going to rot out of my head.

Chris and I had a nice conversation tonight in which I revealed that our relationship was purely platonic. At first he said of course it was, because he has a girlfriend, but I corrected him by telling him that he and his girlfriend can rest assured that I do not have feelings for him. I don't think he thought that, but I just wanted to make sure. I know how people get about boy/girl friendships. It was nice, though. I called him my journalism comrades and he replied 'comrades for life'. And he wants to hang out this weekend AND he liked my review of Rufus Wainwright's new cd. So yeah. It is cool to have a good male friend who also happens to be a kick ass writer.

Late at night, like two hours ago, some mod people and I went out for a walk on the bike path. It was cool, since I haven't hung out with the girls since our dispute a few months ago. Shayne, CJ, Kristina, Aundrea and I walked pretty far back and layed on the pavement and looked at the stars. And then they did 'light as a feather, stiff as a board' on me, which was freaky. It was fun.

And my best friend Taylor from back home called me and left a really sweet message. It was one of those things where its like, I needed to hear that. I ran into three high school friends today, one of which I haven't seen or talked to in forever. It was weird. He was a total popular jock in high school, but he was really nice when we ran into each other. I kind of owe him my life--in seventh grade, he stopped some crazy boy from choking me in the hallway. So it was nice to see him.

See what chill, non-dramatic fun I'm having? I will admit, it's hard...a crush like that can be the ultimate high and coming down from that high has been weird. While drama free days are good, it is kind of boring. But I have stopped glamorizing the situation and realized that his mental problems are just too much to deal with. His ups-and-downs, his indeciveness, his general shitty attitude towards me were not worth putting up with for a few days of happiness. It was hard, but it is necessary.

previous & next