live through this
3:23 p.m. & 2007-12-23

I finally did it. I finally got my second tattoo!

On Friday, Jess came to Cincinnati with me to get it. We went to Aloha, a really neat little tattoo shop near my mom's apartment. I was nervous, of course, and became even more so when the guy working the counter tried to dissuade me from getting it. I think he was joking, but for awhile, I really took his jibes into consideration. Luckily, he did not do my tattoo; a really hot guy named Jason did. I had to wait for awhile while he finished someone else's tattoo. During that time I was nervous, of course, but once he started tattooing me, I remembered that initial feeling of getting a tattoo. It actually doesn't hurt that bad at all and, if anything, your mind tricks you into believing that it will hurt more than it really does. It only took twenty minutes or so, and it only hurt in a few areas. I got it under the crease on my forearm, so once the needle started in the middle of my arm, it stung really bad. It was only brief pain, though, and was over pretty quickly. Thankfully Jason was really cool, too. Between him and Jess, I was rather distracted and didn't think about the pain too much.

It says 'live through this and you won't look back' in script. Its from a Stars song called "Your Ex-Lover is Dead", which is currently the most played song on my ITunes (no worries--a Rufus song quickly follows as number two). I've been debating this as a tattoo idea for the past year and a half, since I first heard the song. I heard it during the time which I consider to be the worst of my life; right after my break-up with Josh, when I moved back from New York City to find nothing ahead of me but sadness and a crappy job at Bath and Body Works. Unfortunately, that crappy period of my life turned into an even longer period of time; the last year and a half of my life has surely been the worst I have ever experienced. There were happy times, of course, but for the most part, it has been one huge mistake/disappointment/dramatic event after another. I decided to commemorate it with this quote as a way of saying yeah, the past year and a half sucked bigtime, but I'm still alive and I am surely not dwelling on it.

Jess got a tattoo right after me, being the tattoo addict she is. Unfortunately we had to wait for quite some time while other people got tattooed before her. We met this guy who was waiting to get his tattoo touched up that took an instant liking to us. He reminded me quite a bit of Taylor, who was with me when I got my first tattoo. Very outgoing, said whatever he was thinking, funny as hell. He watched me get my tattoo, too, and I often had to keep from cracking up. He was good company, as were the others in the store. The piercer was pretty freaking hott, too. Nothing like being surrounded by a bunch of tattooed/pierced hotties.

Here are a few picures of Jess getting tattooed by the guy who originally made me doubt my own.

She got an infinity symbol and three stars on her wrist.

After that, we said goodbye to our new friends and headed to Jess's boyfriend's house for her going-away party.

Thankfully the party was not dramatic at all, not like the last one. However, I did hook-up with someone, which I regret for many reasons. I actually hooked up with him this summer. His name is Pat. He is really cute and one of Craig's (Jess's boyfriend) friends. Everyone was in the basement playing beer pong and we were sitting in the living room. We were both pretty drunk, so he suggested we go upstairs. At first we just made out in Craig's room, which I was happy with because I wasn't going to have sex in the bed that my best friend has sex in. Unfortunately, Craig came upstairs and made us go into his other roommate's bedroom, where things quickly progressed. We did not have sex, but we spent about two hours making out/engaging in various below the belt action.

It ended badly. For starters, my awesome, hilarious friends kept coming upstairs and knocking on/opening the door, finding Pat and I in various states of undress. (I found it to be amusing, while Pat was rather irritated). Finally, they came up to say that they were leaving, and Pat just got dressed and walked out in annoyance. I was pissed about that, but I did not let it ruin my evening with my friends. But when they left, and Pat and I were alone with his brother, who was passed out on the couch from drinking too much, I expressed my anger with him for just walking out like that. He apologized half-heartedly saying that it was just a random hook-up at a party and he didn't know there were formalities. Then later, while he was in the basement getting high, he asked what I had expected (romantic, huh?). Right then and there I decided he was not worth worrying about. I told him we probably should not have done what we did. I think that made him angry. To be honest, while I am not letting it bother me, I think his attitude stems from the fact that he does kind of like me. I know that sounds weird, but we hooked up this summer and apparently he still asks about me when he sees Jess. I also think it stems from the fact that he is more inexperienced than he lets on (well, at least compared to me). But oh well, right? We hooked up this summer and for like three months, I completely forgot he existed, so he can't be that important.

I was going to leave right after my friends left, but Pat's brother got really sick and I stayed to help him take care of him. While Pat is an asshole, I hope he appreciates that. I had to help clean up his bro's chunky, neon-pink puke. Pat was being responsible and really taking care of his brother, who I felt really bad for, since he is only 17 and getting trashed to the point of being almost dangerously sick. I thought that he might of had alcohol poisoning, as did some of the other people there. Before I left, I made sure to tell Craig and Jess to look after him because no one else was really functioning. I heard he had a bad hangover, which I'm glad is the only thing he got...he was a nice kid. Dumb ass brother, but a nice kid nonetheless.

Andy was there, of course. I felt bad about hooking up with Pat, since Andy and I were the ones who were supposed to hook up during the summer but didn't because I hooked up with Pat. He is still really cute and really shy, but he did tell me that he was glad I came, which made me feel good.

But that was that and nothing really came of the night, other than some drunken memories.

Those are the rest of the pictures. That was Friday night...last night, Em and I went to see Sweeney Todd, but I'll write more about that later because I have to go get ready for work!

previous & next