MY BIRTHDAY
11:19 p.m. & 2007-07-27

Today is my 19th birthday.
Happy birthday to me, I live in a zoo, I look like a monkey�and I smell like one, too.
I celebrated my birthday with 8 hours at work. Woot! Exciting, eh? I spent 9-12 in a coma-like state due to a sleeping pill I took last sure, and I am pretty sure my speech was slurring�I hope no one thought I was drunk. Thankfully, it went by pretty fast. Overall, the job is worth it. For around $320 a week, all I have to do is sit at a desk and make phone calls all day. Sitting, talking on a phone�I can do that. Today I called a company and when I asked for the respondent, I found out that his mother just found out today that he is dying. Sad, huh?
To celebrate my birthday, Jess and I went to see Once at the Neon. It is an Irish indie movie that is apparently being called �the best reviewed film of the year.� It definitely deserves such high praise. It was so good, and the music was AMAZING. It is about a man and a woman who fall in love through their shared passion in music. Except, it isn�t as simple as it sounds. I highly recommend it to all film AND music lovers�it�s a two-for-one deal.
Many people wished me a happy birthday; Jess, Steve, Brooke, Bill, Bryan, and even my friend Steven from my NYC days. It was quite nice. I texted back and forth with Bryan for a bit, as well as Will. I keep stressing to Will that we don�t have to be friends if I annoy him too much, but he keeps saying that he would like to be. We had made plans to hang out this week, but he cancelled; I asked if he really wanted to hang out with me, to which he replied, �I would like to, but��, and then when I emphasized the fact that we don�t HAVE to be friends because he feels obligated, he said that he would like to and he wished me a happy birthday. Grr. I am so used to being blown off by assholes, that being blown off by a nice and normal guy is completely new to me. I just want honesty, though, and no bullshit; if he doesn�t want to be friends, than I don�t want to him to fake it, you know? I hate that. Honesty is my biggest policy.
This is the start of a new year. 18-19 was so dramatic for me, I only hope 19-20 goes better. I have decided to make some changes that I will enact tomorrow, which include trying harder not to care what people think of me and letting these pointless crushes go. I will write more about these resolutions later. Birthday resolutions are always serious.

previous & next