pretty pretty princess
11:52 p.m. & 2008-01-08

Blaaaah to being too busy to actually update.

Crazy turn of events, eh?

The first and foremost action in my life has centered around the campus newspaper where I am currently a staff writer on the culture beat. The past few days have been full of newspaper work...interviewing, writing, editing, etc... I got my first article in today's paper, just a short graphic article about movies that came out over winter break. Not necessarily award-winning journalism, but a fun piece to write nonetheless.

I have two more articles running this week (including one I must start shortly) which have involved a lot of interviewing. I am doing one on this film series that the local art theater shows every month, so I've been in their office interviewing them for the past few days. I've worked with a few of them before and they're all really nice people, really interesting and what not. One of the guys is pretty cute, if I must say so myself. I wouldn't mind bumping into him around town...

The newspaper has been stressful, too. I pitched this idea for a story two weeks ago and someone took it from me because they didn't have an idea. It was a really annoying situation and it reminded me why I temporarily quit the paper. Basically what happened is this girl (who, ironically, I went to high school with) was a stringer for three months. I was made a staff writer mere weeks after publishing my first article...meaning, its taken her 9 months to accomplish what I did in a matter of days. So what do they do to reward me? Keep me in this bitch ass position that I've been doing for the past year and HATE. And how is this girl rewarded for her incompetence? Getting the position that I originally had, but gave up when I quit. I am trying to be rational and calm about this, but its hard when I've felt so underappreciated for so long. I guess I'll keep doing what I do in the mean time and see how things work out. Here is to hoping for the best...

Class has been dull and not worthy of talking about really. I have class from 8 a.m. to 11 a.m. EVERY MORNING which has made life kind of sucky. But it has been do-able and I feel like I am doing much more than last quarter, which is kind of a satisfying feeling. I am taking another philosophy class, history through film, statistics, macroeconomics and political science. No journalism classes for me this quarter. All of the classes seem easy, but none are particularly interesting, though I will enjoy watching movies to learn about history!

Socially things have been okay. Nolan and I had a fall-out that I will discuss later. I've been hanging out a lot with the girls on my floor and Ash, of course, who I ate dinner with tonight in the dining hall and then she came back to drink and play a fascinating game of Pretty, Pretty Princess. So nothing too exciting, really.

More later...work and sleeeeep call...

previous & next