sailor jerry would be proud
7:09 p.m. & 2008-01-13

Things Not to Do While Drunk:

1. Down half a bottle of Sailor Jerry's 100 proof rum.
2. Call Damon.
3. IM Nolan.


That about sums up my Saturday night. I begrudgingly went to Ash's party, only to get drunk and do some stupid things. The party itself was fun--I saw Andy from my floor last year and a few guys complimented my tattoo (apparently it's the best one they've seen in awhile), but then I got shit-faced, tried to walk home, got lost, and had to call Em to come and get me. That was a tid embarassing, but thankfully Em is such a good friend and took me home. I'm very lucky to have her!

And yeah, I did all of the things listed above, but I really don't want to talk about them. Damon was surprisingly nice about it, but Nolan was of course an ass and I finally convinced him to block me. It was weird, though, because he first told me to "exert some self-control if I don't want to talk to him". I guess somehow he is the victim, because last time I checked, I DO want to talk to him. And before I persuaded him to block me, he said that it wasn't really necessary. WHY? If he doesn't want to talk to me, then why not? If he hates it so much when I talk to him, then why hadn't he blocked me earlier? In this day and age, there is an easy way to avoid communication with just about everybody. But thankfully, he did it and now I will probably never speak to him again. He graduates in five months. Good riddance! This one is DUNZO!

So, I need to write a more detail description of my nose piercing adventure. Em, Caitlin and I all got it done, and it was SO MUCH fun.

We left pretty early, but it took us two hours to get there, despite MapQuest's insistence that the trip was only an hour long. We got lost three or four times, as it was complete country drive and, while you'd think the signs would be bigger in the country, they were actually really small and hidden. It was a boring drive aesthetically...lots of trees and country and whatnot. We saw LOTS of animals...horses, cows and deer. We saw a huge deer jump seven feet in the air over a bridge...a first even for my midwestern roots. Caitlin was amazed. Coming from D.C., she had never seen such animals up close, so lots of firsts for her. We snacked on cookies that I had left in the car on the way there, which was yummy and fun. And of course we talked and jammed out to the radio.

When we got there, we found the tattoo parlor, which is owned by a friend of Rachel's (hence why we drove an hour away). His name is Kevin and he was super-hot and super cool. He was an asshole in the funny/awesome way that tattoo artists/piercers usually are. He made us do the paperwork and took us into a small room where it all went down.

I went first. Kevin said I was the brave one, obviously, since I have a forward demeanor and I have two tattoos. Ironically enough, I did get a tad scared, and jumped out of the chair when my phone rang. And while he was actually doing it, I squirmed a lot...not necessarily because of the pain, but because he was looking up my nose (who knows what is up there???).

On the issue of pain, it does hurt A LOT. The nose is all cartilage and it is not easy skin to pierce through. And they stick this gigantic needle in your nose and twist it around for awhile. Painful, unpleasant and awkward...and longer than most piercings. And your eyes tear up a lot, which smeared my eye make-up, and mine bled quite a bit. So, when people ask me if it hurt, I will of course say yes, because it did, but it was totally worth it.

Caitlin was a stone fox about hers and got it done like a trooper, with only minor wincing. Em, on the other hand, almost had a panic attack. Caitlin and I held her hand. I kept laughing though, because Em's way of expressing pain is so funny...she like, moans and whimpers like she is having an orgasm or something. Kevin commented on it afterwards that she made him excited. It was so cute! And hilarious!

He only charged us a solid $15 for the piercing...no tax or body jewelry or anything. It was super nice of him. Then we went to Dairy Queen to talk about how cool we are and drink Moo-lattes. Back to Athens we went to show everyone our piercings!!!

I am going to post pictures later, so keep on the look-out!

previous & next