thirsty thursday
7:52 p.m. & 2007-09-06

Has it really only been three days since I started my second year of college? It feels like it has been a lifetime already...

The past few days have been a mixture of extreme highs and extreme lows, but I am thankful to report that they were mostly extreme highs.

My classes are okay. I re-did my schedule AGAIN. While Scripps is the third best journalism school in the nation, OU's general education requirements are bs. Health is a joke, economics shouldn't be too bad and history is looking like my only difficult class. Unfortunately, because I dropped and added classes the second day of the quarter, I have already missed a few classes. Oops. Oh well.

Social life has been okay. I've hung out with Amber twice at her apartment--once to watch the JT concert and yesternight to watch The Fashionista Diaries, which she is on because she interned at one of the places featured on the show. Its been fun. I've randomly run in to and chatted with about a bagillion people from last year, though I haven't done much else. Tonight Ashley and I are going to party at her apartment, so maybe that will add some excitement?

Also, I want to issue a warning to all of you out there to NEVER call pyschic hotlines. But I'm digressing...

It all started when I was browsing Facebook (which I deleted AGAIN...it only causes drama in my life) and saw that one of my friends had joined a group about Jason being in the military. I was taken aback; while I sincerely hope that he is okay, I can not lie that my life has been rather peaceful without him being in the immediate vicinity. But for some reason, the moment I saw that address, the one to mail letters to him, I started wondering, Is this a sign?

So what is a girl to do when she thinks she is encountering a sign? Call a pyschic! And what did these magical arbiters of supernatural powers tell me?

Well, I actually appreciated the first one, because she gave advice more like a mom than a phony sidekick. Basically she said its over, fuggeta bout him and MOVE ON, though she added a pyschic spin to it. That was advice I liked to hear; practical and apparently designated by a higher power.

Now, the second one, a guy, was a lunatic. For one thing, he kept thanking the 'sweet spirit' every time he recieved a prophecy. AND, this is where it gets better, according to him, JASON IS MY SOULMATE. Not only that, but we're going to get married and buy a house in only 3 short years.

That's not even the best part. He then asked me if I knew someone named Stacie, which I do, and he said that I would be going into a successful business venture with her. And what business might that be you ask? CATERING. Because apparently I'm giving up my succesful journalism career to serve hour de'ourves (I can't even spell it!) at crappy weddings. Yeeeah. Stacie got a kick out of that.

Needless to say, I have lost all faith in the supernatural. Now, if I recieve a letter from Jason within two weeks like that guy predicted, I'll be picking my jaw off the floor. But until then...phooey.

Some other stuff has happened, but I am in the process of getting ready, so I will only tell the best part.

Okay, so Damon has been sending out these mass e-mails for the preliminary meeting for our publication. At first I ignore them, until I saw an e-mail sent from his personal account with a story idea. He asked, "How is being back in Athens?" (I think I wrote about that). Anyway, I responded back to the idea and said that I was having a good time. So then, the responded, "Glad to hear you're enjoying A-Town. Gimme a call if you wanna meet up sometime."

AIEIQWIQ. Needless to say, I was pysched. I deliberated for awhile on what to reply, so I said, "Meeting up sounds great. Would you like to hang out next week? I work until 9 pm every night, so anytime after that would work if it works for you as well." Innocent?

Oh yeah, I got a job. But more about that and other study later. Its Thirsty Thursdays people.

previous & next