true love
12:56 p.m. & 2008-01-15

11:52 a.m.: Sorry i missed your call last night...can i holla at cha tonight??

Erm.

Don't get me wrong, I'm pleased that he thought to text me. But I'm getting a bit tired of this last-minute save of face he keeps pulling off. Every time he doesn't respond or doesn't call, I am sure it is the last time we will ever speak. And I make my peace with that. But if he is going to keep coming back every time, I am going to keep expecting that...until one day, he doesn't. See what I mean? CONFUSING!

I am currently working on my story for Thursday, which will be the weekly culture feature. It is about tattoos and more specifically, what to take into consideration when getting one. At first it was supposed to be about regretting your tattoos, but then I altered that idea, as it would be totally hypocritical when I have two myself, including one that is constantly visible. So now it is merely a cautionary article warning people to take them into consideration. Good advice, I think.

I am in the process of thinking about my next tattoo. I want this one to focus on my one true love--writing. And I definitely want to get it in Athens, which is where I am further developing my craft. I just don't know what to get. I kind of want to get an image since I already have a quote, but I can't really think of anything that corresponds to journalism that isn't kind of lame. I'm not going to get it anytime soon, as I need to save up money and I want to put some time between this one and my last one. But it is definitely going to happen at some point!

Now that all the drama is over at the paper, I am realizing why I love writing/journalism so much. Writing and reporting for me is like a natural high. I love to interview people and do research and come up with ideas...it is so thrilling! And I do love Scripps, despite my feelings about OU overall. I mean, it is the third best journalism school in the country! I love the feeling of telling people that I go to E.W. Scripps and having them be impressed. It is a good feeling, considering that in high school I was always being put second to my Ivy League-bound best friend.

I found out last night that Jess makes $15/hr at her co-op job, which is really just a data-entry position. That kind of pisses me off. I respect Jess's chosen career field (engineering), but it feels like everything is catered to her. In Scripps, we have to find our own internships and 99.9% of the time they are unpaid. Engineers, however, have the interviews brought to them at their college campus and are given a variety of choices, without ever having to pick up a phone. AND they get paid a lot! It makes me sad because I realize how underappreciated the liberal arts still are.

Random rant of the day. I must do an interview in a little bit, so off I go!

previous & next