yoko oh-no
10:24 p.m. & 2007-07-14

Soooo yeah...right now, I should be in Chicago, listening to Girl Talk and Yoko Ono, but instead...I am here.

What happened, you ask?

Ha. Well, I left my house at 5:30 in the fucking a.m. to arrive in Dayton at a reasonable time. Before I started on the freeway, I stopped to get gas--and locked my keys in my car.

To make a VERY LONG story short, it took two hours and a $130 to retrieve my keys from the seat on which they were sitting. I will admit, it was a rather comical experience. The men working in the gas station all attempted to break into my car, using odd objects from the backroom. A lot of people were really helpful. I guess one should never underestimate the kindness of strangers. As I sat there next to my car, head on my knees, hood up in the pouring rain waiting for the locksmith, several people asked if I needed help.

Unfortunately, I missed the ride to Chicago for Pitchfork Music Festival. To say that I am bummed is an understatement; as I type, Girl Talk, one of my favorite DJs who I had the oppurtunity to interview earlier this year, is spinning and my friends are probably having a blast dancing to his music. Steve did call, though, and left a message of his performance. Next year, hopefully, I will be attending Pitchfork and some of the other major music festivals.

While I missed the ride for the Chicago, another reason why I didn't attempt to haul ass there myself is because of this pregnancy scare. Running on no sleep, I suddenly became very paranoid--even to the point of purchasing early result pregnancy tests from Krogers. Ha, I know. A girl can't possibly know so soon, but like I said, I was delusional in my fatigue. I began to calm down after a several hour nap, but the situation has been nagging at me for the past day. For starters, I am wondering why he decided to finish the job inside of me...is this something I should ask him? Also, I can't help but to visualize potential outcomes, the worst being pregnancy. But then I also wonder how Will will react...will I never speak to him again, only to weather this worry by myself? UGH.

He seems to be supportive thus far, offering the appropriate amount of worry sans blame. I texted him tonight to ask how his own road trip was going and he responded, "Good. Yours?" I didn't bother telling him I didn't go, but I was happy he reciprocated the question.

I do have some good news, however. I won't reveal the name just yet, but I have been offered a freelance writing position as a political correspondent for a student run website regarding the 2008 presidential election. The website is run by a Yale junior and, out of 300 applicants, I am one of only 50 to be chosen. The editor is hopeful that this project will recieve national coverage--William F. Buckley himself wrote an article about it for the National Review. I am very excited, as is my family. These clips will be invaluable to my portfolio.

The past few days have been relatively exciting, with positive and negative aspects. I also interviewed today at a local Blockbuster video. The manager was ready to hire me on the spot until I revealed that I was leaving for school in early September. I am a bit disappointed, but hopeful she will overlook that slight and hire me. I would LOVE to work at Blockbuster...who better than me? I live for movies.

I am still disappointed to be missing Pitchfork, but am excited about all of the upcoming concerts I will be attending--Modest Mouse, The Killers, and Rufus Wainwright FRONT ROW. WOOT! A lot to look foward to...

Another thing to look forward to? A one-line result.

previous & next