you can be happy can't you see
6:25 p.m. & 2007-06-19

For the past few days, I have been rather nervous about a certain someone and our e-mail correspondence.

I have not yet written about it, but I quit the newspaper to work for a local magazine for progressive thinking next school year. It was quite the dramatic decision to make the change, but I wrote about none of it, for I was and still am rather unsure about my decision. I had the interview a few weeks ago with a guy who turned out to be rather handsome. He bears a striking resemblance to Guy from That Thing You Do!, one of my favorite movies.

Unfortunately, I made quite the ass out of myself during the interview. I was tired; I had just awoken from a nap, so I look disheveled. I was hot and sweaty from walking across town in the newfound heat. And I made the mistake of walking up four flights of stairs rather than taking the elevator, which was strategically hidden from view. Little did I know the man doing the interview would be so hot!

Even more unfortunately, I had a BAD case of verbal diarrhea (better than the literal kind, I suppose). I have absolutely no idea what he thought. Surprisingly, while I was/am worried about my performance in the interview, I think he seemed to like me.

I can only hope he more than liked me.

My old RA is also working for this magazine, and upon a chance encounter in the dining hall, she asked what I thought of him. I am both hopeful and worried; was she asking what I thought because he had said good things about me? OR, was she asking because he is really weird or something?

I guess a completely pointless crush is better than a completely HOPELESS crush (i.e., Jason�who I haven�t spoken to in almost a week and a half). I had e-mailed him (his name is Damon, btw) about something and he didn�t respond for awhile. I was a little worried, but when he did response last night, it was a very enthusiastic e-mail. He likes my story ideas for the September issue. So who knows. Just a harmless summer pre-occupation.

The job hunt goes relatively well, though I definitely spent more money than possibly earning it today. I got Jess her birthday present (a copy of the new Post Secret book signed by Frank Warren), two books for myself (including Barack Obama�s new book), and some postcards. Luckily, though, I think I may have a job any day now. Who knew job hunting is a good way to meet people. A girl at the movie theater I applied at was totally nice and helped me in giving my application directly to a manager and the people at Uno�s were surprisingly accommodating. I wore my multi-colored knit dress, the one that is rather revealing, but several girls, including those who worked at the places I was applying, complimented me on it. At Uno�s, they let me sit at the bar to fill it out and offered me drinks (soda, not alcohol). And one of the guys made a point of introducing himself, though I think he was hitting on me. He wasn�t particularly attractive, but he reminded me of Will, a guy I used to work with at the movie theater last summer.

My dress garnered attention from several males throughout the day, though most of them were older, which kind of grosses me out. But it is so hot outside, there is nothing else to wear!

In a complete surprise, I checked my voicemail to find a message from Brian, a boy I knew throughout high school. When I was a freshman, he was a sophomore (who could drive) and dated my best friend at the time. My boyfriend at the time, Hunter, and I frequently double-dated with them and it was a blast, so it was quite a pleasant surprise to find that he called. So I called him back and chatted with him for awhile. I might go to his 21st birthday party next week. That would be fun.

I have been reading a lot lately. I am reading a book by a Pulitzer-prize winning journalist named Alice Steinbach called Without Reservations. It is about the year she took off from her reporting job to live in Europe . And I can�t wait to start Barack Obama�s book. Mikicho Khikutani (the woman who reviews books for the NY Times, I can�t spell or pronounce her name for anything) said he is actually a very good writer, so I am looking forward to it.

All in all, life has been pretty peaceful lately. I missed Big Love last night, though, because my mom doesn�t have HBO. Oh well, I will watch it when I go home.

previous & next