you've got mail
6:55 p.m. & 2007-02-28

Dizzam. Today was pretty damn good for one of the most unproductive days of college thus far.

I went to english (8:10--yuck!), had breakfast with Jason, then came back and crashed until 6 p.m. EEEEK.

Luckily, as aformentoned, I had a pretty good day. I sent my story to my english teacher to read before handing it in. Normally you are supposed to take it to him during office hours, but I would have felt awkward sitting there while he read it. So I sent it to him via e-mail. I woke up from my eternal sleep, checked my e-mail, and was pleasantly surprised to find that he enjoyed reading it. Not only did he enjoy reading it, but he said that I am a strong writer and should consider taking some fiction workshops.

That made me so happy! You see, I am a journalism student who has always been praised for my news writing abilities (ha...don't consider this bragging. Writing and anything pertaining to reading are the ONLY things I am good at). Every time I was presented with the oppurtunity to write fiction, I freaked out...what if I disappointed everyone? What if I wasn't as good of a writer as everyone thought? So I have kept my very personal writings private thus far. Even diaries such as these are kept pretty PG in terms of feelings. I love to write fiction and poetry, but I keep it a secret for the most part. Ironically, laziness persuaded me to write a short story. It was either that, or another comparative analysis which was hell to write the first time. Obviously I am very pleased with his compliments. To be reassured that you are good at what you want to be good at in life is a very pleasing experience.

On top of that, I transcribed and submitted my Girl Talk interview today. AND, in another surprising e-mail, I found out that Girl Talk and his people want my contact info for his database. I don't know what that means, but it seems pretty cool.

However, despite the general laziness of my day, I did manage to start The Painted Veil by W. Somerset Maugham. He is one of my favorite authors, and one of the most prolific of the twentieth century. The preview for the movie starring Ed Norton inspired me to read this particular novel. I find Ed Norton to be quite yummy, so that mental image combined with the writings of Maugham is quite a treat! It is quite good so far. I love the male characters in his books. He writes of the men I dream about. I put his male characterization up there with Rhett Butler and Atticus Finch in terms of literary male figures. Can't get any better than a good book.

All in all, my day was pretty swell. Pathetically enough, I owe my good day to my e-mail inbox. Haha. Oh well. You get in when you can.

previous & next