old maid isn't just a card game...its a way of life
9:00 a.m. & 2008-04-13

I am becoming an old maid.

Okay, so...as many of you might not know, while I am immensely dedicated to my craft (writing and reporting...journalism), I do not really get the best grades. I get A's in the classes that I enjoy (journalism, english, African-American/women studies, political science), but barely pass classes that are of no interest to me (everything else). So, while my GPA is decent, I would like to prove my overall intelligence by significantly raising my grades.

Also, it will probably be useful in buttering up my parents for a little extra spending money come time to move to Chicago...

Anyway, the point of my story is that I now spend a lot of time studying and not so much time socializing. Hence why last night, Emily and I were lame and merely saw a movie and came home.

But, of course, like any night that is enjoyed by me, there is other stuff.

On the way to the movie, we saw Damon working in the buggy (he makes and serves burritos in a cart on the road, haha...I love it). We passed by while he was on the phone, but he motioned for us to stop and talk to him, which was nice. We did and it was an enjoyable conversation. It is weird, but of all of the guys I've been involved with in the past school year, he is by far the one I like the most as a friend. So that was cool.

We went to see Smart People at the indie theater which Ryan worked at...which is probably why we saw Chris of all people. BUT, in typical Kathy-behavior, I was completely and totally awkward. I held Emily's hand, whispered incoherently, and rushed us off to the bathroom so I could explain my awkwardness. Haha, yeaaah...

But then we went into the movie and it was cute. I definitely recommend it, if not only to see Ellen Page in her pre-Juno role. Also, Thomas Haden Church was freaking hilarious. So yeah, go see it.

Luckily, after the movie got out, we didn't see Chris anymore. So then we walked further uptown to go get cheese fries at the best punk hot dog/french fry joint in town. Which, in true college fashion, we ate out of a box on the steps outside.

Weirdly enough, though, on the way there we saw TIM, who I used to work with at Blockbuster, coming out of a bar. It was so weird. We walked by right as he was leaving, and I did a double take trying to figure out where I knew him from. Then I remembered that we worked together in Cincinnati, so I was like, "What the hell?" We stopped and talked briefly, but later in the night he texted me and asked where I was and if I wanted to come party...

After eating we just came back to our dorm and...went to sleep, haha. I was hella tired and also I felt like I didn't look cute, so I didn't feel like taking anyone up on their plans. Hence why I am up and blogging at 9 a.m.

But, I did message Chris about being awkward and I even asked him to hang out sometime. I figure, where else can it go but up...?

previous & next