update
4:27 a.m. & 2008-04-10

I feel as if I am deserting this blog, which makes me sad. Lately I have been thinking about certain events from the past two years of my life and I realized that this blog has been there with me through a lot of them.

Life has been...weird lately. Not necessarily bad, but not necessarily good, either.

Last Friday, I went to a party at a friend's apartment. It was a good time. Some mutual friends of Ash and mine came into town. We all got drunk and had an impromptu dance party on the living room table. I actually had a lot of fun. I love parties like that.

Saturday was dull as fuck, as was Sunday. Monday started back up with classes, which are actually going well thus far. I am actually taking a journalism class this quarter, which is kind of dull and redundant, but a journalism class nonetheless. It is one of my seven required core classes, which are meant to appeal to all sequences. However, once I get into the thickset of it, I am sure I will be challenged like none other, seeing as how even the core classes are difficult. It is a class dedicated to information gathering and according to the professor, the final project will require more work than anything we've done in college thus far. Sounds promising, no?

The other class I like is African American Arts and Artists. The content is fascinating and for the first time I feel like I really belong somewhere. While I know I belong in journalism classes, they can be a bit intimidating as they are full of the other best and brightest young journalists in the school. (Journalism is kind of a big deal around here). However, this class is merely a sounding board for ideas, rather than a competition to the top. I love just sitting around and discussing and talking and interrupting. I was tired today (well, yesterday), so my ideas were a bit scattered, but for the most, it really makes me think. Maybe African-American studies is a potential specialization prospect?

So, overall, I suppose things have been okay. I have a new writing gig at the local newspaper. I used to write for the campus newspaper, but due to differences in editorial decision making, I am now an entertainment intern for the entertainment section of the local paper. I am currently writing a three-part series on the local film festival which is going relatively well. It also involves quite a bit of interaction with the guy I like...

More on that later.

OH! Speaking of guys, I slept with Jason yesterday. In like, the middle of the day. It was...okay. Not bad, but difficult to really let-go when the blinding sun is shining through the sides of the window.

So yeah. I promise to dedicate more time to writing an in-depth entry about some of the more interpersonal stuff going on in my life.

previous & next