do i disappoint you?
4:26 p.m. & 2007-05-18

I just had my first dose of the reality of journalism.

Well...scratch that...I've been gathering such knowledge for the past four months, but it has just recently culminated in such an epiphany:

You can't please everybody.

I recently wrote about my friend Chris, who I've been helping on an article he graciously took from me due to my recent business and my unwillingness to work with Jason. Today we were supposed to go assist on a photoshoot, but I opted out because I had a meeting with my advisor. I e-mailed, texted, and called him with this information to be on the safe side, but he still ends up getting pissed. Apparently I dumped this article on him and he feels as if he has been doing most of the work.

Well...yeah. It is his article. And I wasn't even pressing for a double byline...I was literally just helping him. He claims he isn't 'that pissed' and that he is just a bit annoyed. At first I was all like, aww, why? I feel bad. But then, after we spoke, I was WTF? And then warning flags went up: over emotional diva boy.

To all my girlies out there, have you realized how emotionally demanding guys are becoming? It has passed 'communication' and is borderline just plain ANNOYING. I'm so sick of it...Jason, James...and now Chris! GAH!

Oh well. Like I said...can't win 'em all.

Last night Amber, her friend and I went to see Anthony Rapp lecture about Rent and his new book. Completely disappointing. So much so that Amber is writing a column about it for the paper. The lecture was good...dry, but good. However, when it came time for the question and answers, he totally disappointed. He was actually kind of rude. The worst part was after the whole show when he refused to take pictures with fans. People stood in line for a long time just to get an autograph. So yeah...I respect his work and enjoyed the lecture for what it was worth, but it was no high quality celeb sighting.

Afterwards Amber and I went back to her apartment to chill and then up to the Union Diner. Fun night overall. Girl time is pretty awesome.

But then last night, Shayne and I kind of had a little tiff about something that happened forever ago but recently surfaced. Luckily it is over, but UGH, what is up with this DRAMA lately?

Today has been...okay? That whole Chris thing phased me a bit, but there were some good parts. For starters, I got FIRST ROW CENTER tickets for the Rufus Wainwright show on August 23. Holla! And during advising, my advisor (and also the head of my school) didn't dig me about my shitty grades. Grades do not make the journalist, yo. The words speak for themselves.

On a waaay lighter note, the season finale of Ugly Betty was AMAZING. It made me laugh...but most of all, it made me CRY like craaazy. Go watch it, even if you haven't watched the season yet.

previous & next