i'm not sorry it's over
12:55 a.m. & 2007-06-04

Blah. I have been quite ill this weekend, so I spent the majority of it asleep or just laying in bed with a killer headache.

The past week has been exhausting. Between mental exhaustion and physical illness, I haven't had an oppurtunity to write about anything completely menial.

My in-bed-all-day weekend caused me to miss all of the end-of-the-year events, including all-staff (newspaper banquet) and Post Toasties (newspaper staff PARTY). Apparently I won an award at all-staff, but I don't know for what.

Chris said he missed me at the meeting, which made me feel good. Unfortunately that kid has been grating my last nerve the past few weeks. He is so conceited. He is a great writer, but that kid has the biggest ego. He is one of those people who always subtly alludes to their greatness, like "so-and-so told me I am so great, but whatever" or "there is so much pressure on me because they all say I am up-and-coming", blah blah blah. He is a great guy, but the ego can be a bit overwhelming. Oh well. We'll have a three month break from each other until we have to start up at the newspaper again.

I talked to Jason tonight. It was...well, there really are no words to describe it. It was strangely nice, like the closure which I have been needing. He was being surprisingly conversational. I asked if he wanted to hang out before Thursday (which is when I leave OU)...at first, he said he thought I hated him (about the jacket) and we talked about that for a bit. Then I asked him again, and he made a joke. Then...when it finally came down to the question at hand, he said "prolly" and then asked me what nights I am free. However, he said that he may be busy with graduation stuff (a lot of his friends are graduating), so I doubt it will happen. Then I asked if he was going to miss me, to which he made some stupid sexual joke, which is surprisingly positive for him. I am glad he didn't ruin my attempts at senitmentality with his general asshole-ishness. The most surprising part came when I told him to not forget about me (in true Breakfast Club-style). He said he won't and that he'll just try not to "associate" with me next year because of my position as music staff writer. Then I said he can, and I said, "Do you want to? I'd still like to stay friends with you when you get back to OU?" He said "Yeah, but we can try not being public about it I guess."

Yeah. Epic, eh? That will be something to mull over this summer.

Good-byes suck. This pretty much sums it up...

There's one thing I want to say so I'll be brave
You were what I wanted, I gave what I gave
I'm not sorry I met you
I'm not sorry it's over
I'm not sorry there's nothing to save
I'm not sorry there's nothing to save

previous & next