marvel with me
2:32 p.m. & 2007-04-04

Whoa, weird. I was going through my archives and my post for Saturday night/early Sunday morning wasn't there.

Let me just say that I spent Saturday nigtht highly intoxicated. I kissed a couple of dozen people, boys and girls. It was embarassing, but some good old college fun.

I was bored, hence the follow-up post. I also have a random rant concerning an up-coming article. Every week there is a special column dedicated completely to the culture staff--we can write about anything we want. Well, a few weeks ago, I proposed an in-depth look at the affects of graphic novels and comic books on pop culture. Not a shabby idea, I thought. 300 came out a few weeks ago to a stellar box office opening and Spider 3 is due out in less than a month. What better to write about?

So I started doing some extensive research. I sat up mulitple interviews, one with a comic who actually used to work for Marvel. I was extra excited for this assignment. You see, as a staff writer, I am required to write two articles a week. So while stringers have the luxury of choosing one topic and spending a fair amount of time crafting an article, I am forced to write two previews a week. Basically I found out about an event, interview the necessary people, and chug out 500+ words on trivial details, like date, place, and cost of admission. But this was my chance to shine, to really write something.

The catch (because you knew there was going to be one)? It has been pushed back a week. UUUGGGHH. If it doesn't go in, I will be pissed. Like, furious. So everyone wish me luck. I am really pulling for this one.

previous & next